Case Study: Public Health Shared Services: Southeast Kansas (SEK) Multi-County Health Department

Resource Summary

The Southeast Kansas (SEK) Multi-County Health Department is a collaboration between four rural counties: Allen, Anderson, Bourbon and Woodson. It operates as a single agency, but provides public health services in each county. The arrangement allows the four counties to share one administrator, one accountant and one medical director between the four public health locations. The counties receive many benefits by offering public health services through this sharing arrangement, including efficiencies in administration, increased flexibility for staff members, and cooperation and moral support between counties.