WEBINAR: State Health Departments and Cross-Jurisdictional Sharing

Overview:

Cross-jurisdictional sharing (CJS) models typically are established to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of public health programs and outcomes. CJS arrangements may be initiated by local health departments in response to local needs. In addition, state health departments may use CJS to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of state-funded programs or otherwise make system-wide changes.

This webinar provides an overview of ways in which state health departments can support and initiate CJS arrangements at the local level. It provides specific examples of how this has been done in Minnesota and Montana.

 

Download the webinar slides: State Health Departments and Cross-Jurisdictional Sharing

Objectives:

  1. Describe state health department strategies that support local health department efforts to establish and operate CJS arrangements.
  2. Describe state health department strategies that use a CJS approach to improve the delivery of state-funded public health services.

 

GUEST SPEAKERS:

Michael Fraser
Chief Executive Officer
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials

Chelsie Huntley
Director
Center of Public Health Practice
Minnesota Department of Health

Mandi Zanto
Healthy Lifestyles Section Supervisor
Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Bureau
Public Health and Safety Division
Montana Department of Health and Human Services


Upcoming Webinars:
December 7, 2018: Ways to Organize Cross-Jurisdictional Sharing: Models Using a Third Party
10:00 a.m. PT/11:00 a.m. MT/12 noon CT/1:00 p.m. ET
 
January 18, 2019: Ways to Organize Cross-Jurisdictional Sharing: Models Between Health Departments
10:00 a.m. PT/11:00 a.m. MT/12 noon CT/1:00 p.m. ET

 


This webinar is included in the CJS Resource Library under the categories listed below. Select a link to find other resources in that category.

  • Background / History: The webinar describes state health department strategies that support local health department efforts to establish and operate CJS arrangements.
  • Quality Improvement: The webinar describes state health department strategies that use a CJS approach to improve the delivery of state-funded public health services.

 
This resource is also linked to the Roadmap. Select a link below to read more about each area.