Updated: Spectrum of Cross-Jurisdictional Sharing (CJS) Arrangements

March 13, 2017

The Center for Sharing Public Health Services has updated its Spectrum of Cross-Jurisdictional Sharing (CJS) Arrangements.

The spectrum identifies four main types of CJS arrangements:

  • As-Needed Assistance
  • Service-Related Arrangements
  • Shared Programs or Functions
  • Regionalization/Consolidation

Generally, moving from left to right along the Spectrum, the level of service integration increases, the level of jurisdictional autonomy decreases and implementation becomes more complex, as can governance.

Each type of arrangement has the potential to achieve gains in effectiveness and efficiency, particularly if designed and implemented correctly following the steps outlined in the Center’s Roadmap to Develop Cross-Jurisdictional Sharing Initiatives.

Conceptually, the spectrum has not changed. The updates, which were made to increase clarity, include:

  • Renaming the first column “As-Needed Assistance” to better reflect the episodic nature of the arrangements in that category;
  • Revising the names of the third and fourth columns to provide greater clarity of meaning; and
  • Changing some details in the examples in all four columns, in order to enhance precision.

The Center also has published a brief with more information about the Spectrum.

If you have questions about the Spectrum or if you need guidance with new or existing CJS initiatives, please email phsharing@khi.org.

– Pat Libbey and Gianfranco Pezzino, Center Co-Directors