Ohio: Cross-Jurisdictional Sharing

Background Information

Ohio is served by a decentralized public health system. There are 120 independent local health agencies in the state that are led by local staff. There also are two state-run regional or district offices.

Cross-jurisdictional sharing (CJS) has received a great deal of attention in Ohio since 2011. At the time, state law allowed the state’s director of health to mandate accreditation, and currently health departments have until July 1, 2020, to become accredited by the Public Health Accreditation Board. Almost simultaneously, the Association of Ohio Health Commissioners released a proposed model for Ohio’s local governmental public health system that includes a mechanism for governance and sustainable financing, considers cross-jurisdictional sharing and/or regionalization, enhances quality and assures value.

The Center’s Resource Library contains additional resources on cross-jurisdictional sharing in Ohio. Click here for information about the legal basis for cross-jurisdictional sharing in Ohio from the Network for Public Health Law.

Examples of CJS Arrangements

Center for Sharing Public Health Services Grantees

Portage County and the cities of Kent and Ravenna
This grantee was part of the Center’s Shared Services Learning Community.
Portage County Health District expanded to include the city of Ravenna, resulting in enhanced services for Ravenna. Simultaneously, the health district and the city of Kent engaged in a joint community health improvement planning process that has successfully engaged numerous partners in countywide efforts to further protect and promote the health of all residents. Select this link to read the Center’s 2017 CJS Case Report about this grantee and to access several policies, procedures, tools and reports associated with their CJS initiative.

Franklin, Delaware and Licking Counties
This grantee was part of the Center’s 2016 Small Grant Program.
Franklin County Public Health and the neighboring health departments in Delaware and Licking Counties collaborated on the planning and implementation of a new solid waste program module in the state’s environmental health database.

Additional Examples

Summit County and the cities of Akron and Barberton

The Consolidation of the Health Departments in Summit County, Ohio
Epilogue: The Consolidating of the Health Departments in Summit County, Ohio
Source: John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Consolidating Health Departments in Summit County, Ohio: A One Year Retrospective
Source: Kent State University, College of Public Health, Center for Public Administration and Public Policy

Summit County Health District and Akron Health Department Consolidation Feasibility Study
Source: Center for Community Solutions

Note: This is not a complete list of all CJS arrangements in the state. If you have examples to submit, please contact us at phsharing@khi.org.